I just began implementing, ever so sloooowly, my new lifestyle change. So not much to report.

Up to this point, I have found that shopping for the items that I need for my recipes has been the most frustrating. The closest health food store is a minimum of 20 minutes away. And lets not even talk about my crazy looking butt once I get to one. Shopping for all of these things I’ve never heard of is so hard at first. I am beginning to navigate though. =D I’m certainly not trying to discourage, but let’s face it this is a far cry from driving through McDonald’s, ordering a pizza pie or grabbing a bag of chips and dip and making that dinner.

Here are a few recipes that I’ve tried up to this point with my critiques:

http://www.mynaturalfamily.com/recipes/paleo-recipes/paleo-crock-pot-lasagna/

This has been one of my favorite recipes so far! I couldn’t believe that stuff in the “cheese sauce” was actually like cheese after it cooked. I also never thought that last step…making the juice from crock pot into something thicker was EVER going to work, but it did. It took a while so be patient. I will definitely be making this one again!

http://paleopot.com/2012/10/paleo-sausage-stuffed-peppers/

I liked this one BUT, I used the wrong type of Thyme. I used ground when I should’ve used leaf. It was strong on the Thyme flavor and this isn’t a spice I’m super fond of in the first place. Good thing I decided to half the quantity from to 1 tsp…especially given my mistake in using ground Thyme!

http://ourfullplate.com/recipes/paleo-crock-pot-beef-fajitas/

http://www.paleocupboard.com/mexican-cauliflower-rice.html

This was the first meal that I prepared and I very much enjoyed this one too. I did fail a bit and used a regular taco sized soft flour tortilla, but in my defense I did try to find a better option. Next time I make it, I would make coconut flour tortillas. To me the guacamole was essential to make me not miss the cheese or sour cream I usually put on my fajitas. The rice was very flavorful and again, I was surprised by how much it felt like I was eating rice.

http://marianutrition.blogspot.com/2010/08/italian-meatballs.html

We opted for ground lamb and probably weren’t super big fans of it in meatballs. We did eat it and it grew on us, but probably would still with all ground turkey going forward. I served this with Spaghetti Squash halved lengthwise, seeded, placed face down on a piece of foil with olive oil on it, and baked at 375 for 40 mins. I added salt and pepper to taste. I LOVED the Spaghetti Squash as I always have, but had never prepared it myself until this meal.
Try one of these recipes and let me know what you think or what changes you made, if any.

Happy healthy cooking!

~Fatty Chic

