Tags

, , ,

I just love fresh beets! Most of my life I thought I hated beets, but it turns out I just didn’t like the pickled kind in the jar. That’s what was served in my family. Several years back I discovered fresh beets at a restaurant and a few years back I began making them myself. If you’ve never made fresh beets before they are pretty easy. You just remove the greens, wash the beets, brush with olive oil, I add salt and pepper, and put them on a cookie sheet at 350 for 40 mins to 1 hour or until tender when poked with a fork. Let them cool until you can handle and then peel. CAUTION: the will make everything they touch red so don’t wear white. Haha

I’ve made two recipes lately with beets, but I can definitely say I prefer this one far better.

http://paleospirit.com/2012/roasted-beet-and-cucumber-salad-with-yogurt-dressing/

I wouldn’t change a thing about this recipe! I will make this regularly for sure. This was great to take for lunch or to have with dinner.

I also love beet and feta salads with vinegar and oil dressing. So many uses for beets and their health benefits are many.

Beet on my friends!

~ Fatty Chic

